Sales call software splits into three categories that buyers confuse constantly. Outbound dialers place calls, conversation intelligence records and scores them, and inbound call tracking attributes incoming calls to marketing. This list ranks 12 outbound and coaching tools, and Orum takes the top spot for parallel dialing across 5 to 10 lines.
Before any of that matters, you need to understand who decides whether your call connects. It isn’t the dialer.
It’s the carrier gods.
Every number you dial from carries a reputation with the carriers. The carriers decide whether you show up as your company name, as an unknown number, or as “Scam Likely.” Guess which one gets answered.
So why does that matter when I’m picking software? Because half the features in this list exist to appease the carrier gods, and vendors don’t label them that way. Branded caller ID, number rotation, spam monitoring, local presence: all of that is reputation management wearing a different hat.
The short version
- Orum wins on parallel dialing across up to 10 lines, and its own pricing page now states a 9-seat minimum, checked 24 August 2026.
- RingCentral RingCX is the only tool here selling predictive dialing.
- Six of the twelve publish no price at all: Orum, Nooks, VanillaSoft, Gong, Outreach and Salesloft.
- Gong, Outreach and Salesloft sell coaching or sequencing first, so dialing is a secondary feature on all three.
- A parallel dialer raises dials per hour. Connect rate per dial stays where it was.
- Budget for carrier registration before you budget for seats, because A2P 10DLC takes one to three weeks.
Sales Call Software at a Glance
| Rank | Tool | Best for | Starting price (checked 24 Aug 2026) | Seat floor | Free trial |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | Orum | Parallel dialing at volume | Custom, no published figure | 9 seats | Yes, capped at 500 dials |
| 2 | Nooks | Parallel dialer plus AI coaching in one | Custom, no published figure | Not stated | Not stated |
| 3 | RingCentral RingCX | Predictive dialing | $65/user/mo annually | Not stated | Yes, 20 lines and 2 desk phones |
| 4 | VanillaSoft | Queue-based cold calling teams | Custom, no published figure | First 5 seats bundled | Demo only |
| 5 | Aircall | Phone system and dialer together | $30/license/mo annually | 3 licenses, so $90/mo | Yes, 7 days |
| 6 | CloudTalk | International calling | €19/user/mo annually on Lite | 1 on Lite, 3 on Expert | Yes, 14 days |
| 7 | Close | Small teams wanting CRM and calling in one | $9/user/mo annually | 1, capped at 10k leads | Yes |
| 8 | Gong | Call coaching and deal intelligence | Custom, plus a platform fee | Not stated | Demo only |
| 9 | Outreach | Calls and email sequences together | Custom, voice from $300/mo per org | Not stated | Demo only |
| 10 | Salesloft | Enterprise sales engagement | Custom, no published figure | Not stated | Demo only |
| 11 | Myphoner | Budget cold calling | $27/seat/mo billed monthly | 1 | Yes |
| 12 | CallAction | Real estate lead response | $299/mo flat for 1 user | 1 user | No, 30-day money back |
How We Evaluated These Tools
We checked every vendor’s own pricing page and product documentation on 27 July 2026. No third-party review sites, no aggregator roundups, no vendor press copy.
We weighed four criteria, in this order: dialer capability first, because a tool that can’t place outbound calls doesn’t belong in this category at all. Then carrier reputation features, then CRM integration depth, then real cost including seat minimums. We rank sales enablement platforms on the same criteria, where seat minimums and multi-year contracts are the norm.
That last one caught more vendors than we expected. Advertised prices and real floors are different numbers, and we’ve flagged the gap on every entry where it exists.
Why the prices here don’t match other roundups
Aircall, RingCentral and Toky all inject prices through JavaScript. A plain scrape of those pages returns empty fields, so roundups built on scraping republish whatever they cached years ago. We loaded each page in a browser instead.
Which of These 12 Vendors Publish a Price, and Which Make You Ask
Six of the twelve tools on this list publish no price on their own websites: Orum, Nooks, VanillaSoft, Gong, Outreach and Salesloft. We opened all twelve pricing pages on 24 August 2026 to check.
That matters more than the numbers themselves. A quote-gated price means a mandatory sales call and a seat count you negotiate. It usually means an annual commitment too, agreed before you have dialed anything.
Two of the six at least publish their seat floor. Orum’s pricing page states “Minimum 9-Seat” and VanillaSoft states that every bundle includes your team’s first 5 seats. Both tell you the size of team they want before you fill in a form.
| Tool | Publishes a price? | Where the number lives (checked 24 Aug 2026) | Seat floor stated on the page |
|---|---|---|---|
| Orum | No | Pricing page describes the model and the feature list only | 9 seats |
| Nooks | No | Pricing page is a quote-request form | Not stated |
| RingCentral RingCX | Yes | Contact center pricing page, JavaScript rendered | Not stated |
| VanillaSoft | No | Annual bundle model described in words, no figures | First 5 seats bundled |
| Aircall | Yes | Pricing page, figures load client-side by country | 3 licenses, 25 for Custom |
| CloudTalk | Yes | Pricing page, with EUR and USD views and a country selector | 1 on Lite, 3 on Expert |
| Close | Yes | Pricing page, monthly and annual both shown | 1 |
| Gong | No | Pricing page states per-user licenses plus a separate platform fee | Not stated |
| Outreach | No | Four tiers named, seat price absent, voice priced separately | Not stated |
| Salesloft | No | Pricing page carries no numbers and no plan tiers | Not stated |
| Myphoner | Yes | Pricing page, with an explicit “no discounts” answer in the FAQ | 1 |
| CallAction | Yes | Pricing page, flat monthly rate by lead volume | 1 user |
Gong is the only one of the six to name the hidden cost outright. Its pricing page states that a platform fee sits on top of the per-user licenses, which is the line most comparison posts omit entirely.
Who Owns These Companies, and What Changed in 2026
Ownership tells you who sets the roadmap and who sets the renewal price. Five of these twelve sit under a parent company or a private equity holder, and two changed materially in 2026.
| Tool | Ownership status (checked 23 Sep 2026) | What changed recently |
|---|---|---|
| Orum | Independent, venture backed | Acquired Scout AI in July 2026 and now sells it as Scout by Orum |
| Nooks | Independent, venture backed | Raised $25M in June 2025 |
| RingCentral RingCX | RingCentral product, publicly traded | RingCX reached general availability in November 2023 |
| VanillaSoft | Majority stake held by Tritium Partners since 2023 | Owns Autoklose, and its site now serves from the bare domain |
| Aircall | Independent, venture backed | Acquired Vogent in May 2026 and Piper AI in June 2026 |
| CloudTalk | Independent, Slovak, no acquisitions | Raised a $28M Series B in January 2024 |
| Close | Independent and bootstrapped | Launched the Chloe AI sales agent in June 2026 |
| Gong | Independent and private | Announced roughly $500M in annual recurring revenue in May 2026 |
| Outreach | Independent | Rebranded to outreach.ai, and outreach.io now redirects there |
| Salesloft | Majority owned by Vista Equity Partners since December 2021 | Acquired Drift in February 2024, then completed its merger with Clari in December 2025; clari.com and groove.co both now redirect to salesloft.com |
| Myphoner | Independent, Copenhagen, roughly three staff | HubSpot and Pipedrive integrations are still marked Beta |
| CallAction | Independent since 2015 | No corporate change found |
The Outreach change is the one that breaks other people’s articles. Outreach.io redirects to outreach.ai now, so any roundup still naming the old domain as the official site is quoting a page it did not open.
Quote-gated pricing also changes where the tool sits in your buying cycle. A tool you can swipe a card for gets tested inside a week. A tool with a nine-seat floor gets tested only after you have agreed a repeatable sales process worth staffing at that size.
1. Orum: Best for Parallel Dialing at Volume
Orum is a parallel dialer that places up to 10 simultaneous calls and connects a rep only when a human picks up. Orum is built for outbound teams measuring conversations per hour.
Orum’s core bet is that rep time disappears into ringing, voicemail and phone trees. Orum’s AI answer detection filters all three, so a rep hears a live human or nothing.
Orum dials 5 lines on the Launch tier and 10 lines on Ascend. Orum also rotates 5 to 10 caller IDs per user per month and runs spam monitoring. That’s the part that keeps the carrier gods calm over a long campaign.
Key features
- Parallel dialing across 5 lines (Launch) or 10 lines (Ascend)
- AI answer detection that skips voicemail and IVR menus
- Unlimited dials on all tiers
- Caller ID rotation, 5 to 10 numbers per user per month
- Spam number monitoring and remediation
- Sub-half-second connect time once a human answers
Pricing: custom, published on the Orum pricing page. Orum’s pricing page now states a 9-seat minimum, checked 24 August 2026, up from the 3-seat floor it published previously. The free trial is capped at 500 dials.
Who should choose Orum
- SDR teams of 9 or more, which is the seat floor Orum publishes
- Sales leaders who track conversations per hour as a primary metric
- Teams already burning through caller IDs and getting spam-flagged
Limitations: Orum doesn’t document call recording or SMS on its public site, so teams needing either should confirm before buying. The 9-seat minimum rules out solo reps and small teams outright, and it’s the biggest change to this list since it first ran.
2. Nooks: Best for a Parallel Dialer and AI Coaching in One
Nooks combines parallel, multi-line and power dialing with real-time transcription, call summaries and AI call scoring. Nooks covers dialing volume and call quality in a single purchase.
Nooks is the closest thing here to buying Orum and Gong together. Nooks runs AI answer detection on the dialing side, then scores the conversations that connect.
Nooks syncs bidirectionally with HubSpot and Salesforce and handles number rotation natively. For a team that wants one vendor instead of two, Nooks is the shortest path.
Key features
- Parallel, multi-line and power dialing with AI answer detection
- Real-time transcription during live calls
- Automated AI call summaries written after each call
- AI call scoring against your own criteria
- Bidirectional HubSpot and Salesforce sync
- SMS sequences and automatic number rotation
Pricing: custom quote only, requested through the Nooks pricing page. Nooks publishes no tiers and no figures.
Who should choose Nooks
- Teams that want dialing volume and call coaching from one vendor
- Sales managers coaching newer reps who need call scoring
- Organizations already standardized on HubSpot or Salesforce
Limitations: Nooks publishes nothing about pricing, which makes budgeting a guessing game until you talk to sales. Nooks is newer than Gong and Outreach, so its third-party integration catalog is thinner.
3. RingCentral RingCX: Best for Predictive Dialing
RingCentral RingCX is the only tool on this list selling true predictive dialing, alongside preview and progressive modes. RingCX starts at $65 per user per month billed annually.
Predictive dialing barely exists in this category anymore. Aircall says outright that it doesn’t offer one, and CloudTalk, VanillaSoft, HubSpot and Myphoner don’t either.
RingCentral splits its products in a way that trips up buyers. RingEX is the business phone system at $20 per user per month. RingCX is the contact center product, and RingCX is where every dialing mode lives.
Key features
- Predictive, preview and progressive dialing (RingCX only)
- Branded caller ID across US and Canadian carriers
- AI call summaries and transcription included in the Core tier
- Call quality reporting and contact center analytics
- Salesforce, HubSpot, Zendesk and ServiceNow integrations
- SMS from 25 messages per user per month, scaling by tier
Pricing: RingCX Standard $65 per user per month billed annually, $75 monthly. Professional $95, Elite $145. Listed on the RingCentral contact center pricing page.
Who should choose RingCentral RingCX
- Mid-sized teams that specifically need predictive dialing
- Sales leaders who report on call quality metrics
- Companies already running RingEX for their phone system
Limitations: CRM integrations require the Advanced tier and up, so Core buyers don’t get them. RingCentral’s own trial page contradicts itself on user limits, listing both 20 lines and a 5-user maximum.
4. VanillaSoft: Best for Queue-Based Cold Calling Teams
VanillaSoft routes leads to reps through a priority queue rather than a call list, with progressive, preview and parallel dialing across up to 5 lines.
VanillaSoft’s queue model is the differentiator. Reps don’t pick who to call; VanillaSoft serves the next-best lead based on rules you set, which removes cherry-picking from the process.
VanillaSoft took a growth investment from Tritium Partners in September 2023 and stayed independent. VanillaSoft also acquired Autoklose, folding email sequencing into the platform.
Key features
- Queue-based lead routing with priority rules
- Progressive, preview and parallel dialing up to 5 lines
- SmartCaller Trust branded caller ID across 850+ providers
- Local presence dialing
- A2P 10DLC registration handled for SMS compliance
- Call recording and transcription
Pricing: custom, quoted through the VanillaSoft pricing page. VanillaSoft sells annual bundles that include the first five seats.
Who should choose VanillaSoft
- Cold calling teams of 5 or more working high lead volumes
- Managers who want routing rules instead of rep discretion
- Teams that need branded caller ID and 10DLC compliance handled
Limitations: VanillaSoft doesn’t offer predictive dialing. Branded caller ID and local presence sit on the Advantage tier. The entry Core bundle leaves out the carrier reputation tools that make VanillaSoft attractive.
5. Aircall: Best for a Phone System and Dialer Together
Aircall is a cloud phone platform with a power dialer, 250+ integrations and a well-regarded mobile app, sold per license with a 3-license minimum.
Aircall covers inbound and outbound from one system, which suits teams where reps take calls as well as make them. Aircall’s integration catalog is the deepest in this list.
Watch the pricing structure. Aircall’s advertised $30 Essentials price is annual-only with a hard 3-license minimum, putting the real floor at $90 per month. The power dialer requires Professional at $50 per license, so a dialing team starts at $150 per month.
Key features
- Power dialer (Professional tier and up)
- 250+ integrations including Salesforce, HubSpot, Pipedrive and Dynamics
- Call recording on all tiers
- AI Assist transcription and summaries as a paid add-on
- SMS and MMS support
- Shared inbox and call routing for inbound coverage
Pricing: Essentials $30 per license per month billed annually, Professional $50, on the Aircall pricing page. Three-license minimum applies to every tier.
Who should choose Aircall
- Teams handling inbound and outbound calls from the same system
- Companies with an unusual tech stack needing broad integration coverage
- Reps who work from phones as much as desktops
Limitations: Aircall confirms in its own FAQ that it doesn’t offer predictive dialing. AI transcription costs extra at $9 per user per month, rising to $49 for AI Assist Pro, and English is the only supported AI language.
6. CloudTalk: Best for International Calling
CloudTalk provides local phone numbers in more than 160 countries with a power dialer sold as an add-on, aimed at teams calling across borders.
CloudTalk’s country coverage is its strongest card. Teams selling into multiple regions can dial from a local number in each one, which lifts answer rates more than any script change will.
CloudTalk unbundles aggressively, so read the add-on list before comparing prices. The power dialer costs €15 per user per month on top of the seat. Parallel dialing across 10 lines runs €39, and AI summaries add €9.
Key features
- Local numbers in 160+ countries
- Power dialer add-on, parallel dialing add-on for 10 lines
- Branded caller ID for US and UK, billed from €0.07 per call
- 95+ integrations including Salesforce, HubSpot, Pipedrive and Zendesk
- Call recording on all plans
- SMS, MMS and WhatsApp messaging
Pricing: Starter $25 per user per month billed annually in the US view, $34 monthly, on the CloudTalk pricing page. European visitors see a cheaper Lite tier at €19.
Who should choose CloudTalk
- Teams calling prospects across multiple countries
- Companies needing local presence outside North America
- Buyers who prefer paying only for the features they use
Limitations: CloudTalk sells no predictive dialer. The add-on model means a team wanting power dialing, parallel dialing and AI summaries pays roughly triple the headline seat price.
7. Close: Best for Small Teams Wanting CRM and Calling in One
Close is a sales CRM with built-in calling, SMS, two-way email sync and sequences, starting at $9 per user per month billed annually.
Close puts the phone inside the CRM, so call logging happens without rep effort. For small teams, that removes the integration work every other option on this list requires.
Close was formerly Close.io, and close.io now redirects to close.com. The dialer isn’t in the entry tier; dialing features start on Growth at $99 per user per month.
Key features
- Built-in calling with automatic activity logging
- Power dialer and Predictive Dialer on Growth tier and above
- Two-way email sync with sequences
- Built-in SMS
- Call Assistant for AI transcription and summaries
- Pipeline management and reporting in the same product
Pricing: Solo $9 per user per month billed annually, Growth $99, listed on the Close pricing page. Phone lines cost from $1 each per month.
Who should choose Close
- Teams of 1 to 10 without an existing CRM
- Founders selling directly who want one tool instead of three
- Sales teams that hate manual call logging
Limitations: Close’s $9 headline understates real cost. Phone lines, IVR at $19 per line per month and Call Assistant at $50 per month plus $0.02 per minute all stack on top. Teams already running Salesforce or HubSpot will duplicate spend.
8. Gong: Best for Call Coaching and Deal Intelligence
Gong records and analyzes sales calls, then surfaces deal risk, competitor mentions and coaching opportunities across an entire team.
Gong is the category leader in conversation intelligence, and its analysis reaches past individual calls into pipeline forecasting. Managers use Gong to find which behaviors correlate with closed deals.
Gong Engage adds dialing, though Gong doesn’t document whether it supports parallel or predictive modes. Teams buying Gong are usually buying the analysis, with dialing as a secondary benefit.
Key features
- Call recording, transcription and AI summaries
- Deal risk scoring across the pipeline
- Competitor and objection tracking across all recorded calls
- Coaching workflows with scorecards
- Bidirectional Salesforce sync and 300+ integrations
- Dialing through Gong Engage
Pricing: custom quote through the Gong pricing page, which states that pricing depends on factors specific to each team.
Who should choose Gong
- Sales organizations of 20+ reps with dedicated management
- Leaders who want forecasting grounded in call evidence
- Teams constrained by call quality rather than call volume
Limitations: Gong is the most expensive option here for most teams and requires a sales conversation to learn anything about cost. Gong’s SMS and local presence capabilities aren’t documented publicly.
9. Outreach: Best for Calls and Email Sequences Together
Outreach is a sales engagement platform that runs multi-step sequences combining email, calls and LinkedIn touches, with an integrated dialer and local dial support.
Outreach treats the call as one step in a sequence rather than a standalone activity. For teams running structured multi-channel cadences, that sequencing is the product.
Outreach names four tiers without publishing a single seat price. Outreach does publish voice usage separately at $300 per month per organization, covering 50 countries and 10,000 minutes.
Key features
- Multi-channel sequences across email, phone and LinkedIn
- Outreach Voice dialer with local dial
- Real-time transcription and AI call summaries
- Sentiment analysis on recorded calls
- Deal management and forecasting
- Salesforce and Dynamics bidirectional sync
Pricing: seat pricing is custom, requested through the Outreach pricing page. Voice usage runs $300 per month per organization.
Who should choose Outreach
- SDR teams running structured multi-channel cadences
- Revenue organizations that want sequencing and forecasting together
- Companies with a Salesforce-centered stack
Limitations: Outreach’s model combines seats with AI credits, which makes forecasting cost harder than a flat per-seat price. Smaller teams typically find Outreach heavier than they need.
10. Salesloft: Best for Enterprise Sales Engagement
Salesloft is a sales engagement platform whose dialer supports listen-in, whisper, barge and voicemail drop, aimed at enterprise teams with dedicated enablement.
Salesloft’s live-call controls set it apart. Managers can listen to a rep’s call, whisper coaching only the rep hears, or take over the conversation, which shortens ramp time for new hires.
Salesloft completed a merger with Clari on 3 December 2025, with Steve Cox leading the combined company. Salesloft continues to operate under its own brand and domain.
Key features
- Dialer with listen-in, whisper and barge controls
- Voicemail drop for pre-recorded messages
- Conversation intelligence and call recording
- Multi-channel cadences across email, phone and social
- Bidirectional CRM sync
- SMS messaging
Pricing: custom, quoted through the Salesloft pricing page.
Who should choose Salesloft
- Enterprise sales teams with dedicated enablement functions
- Managers who coach live rather than after the fact
- Organizations wanting forecasting and engagement from one vendor after the Clari merger
Limitations: The Clari merger closed recently, so packaging and roadmap may shift over the next year. Salesloft doesn’t document whether it supports parallel or predictive dialing.
11. Myphoner: Best for Budget Cold Calling
Myphoner is a lead management CRM and power dialer built specifically for cold calling teams, and it includes the power dialer on every tier.
Myphoner is the cheapest real dialer here, and including power dialing at entry level is unusual at this price. Myphoner is run by Myphoner ApS in Denmark.
Myphoner’s lead queue handles duplicate detection and rep assignment, covering the basics a cold calling team needs without a contact center’s complexity.
Key features
- Power dialer included on all tiers
- Lead queue with duplicate detection and rep assignment
- Call recording with 60 to 180 day retention by tier
- Local numbers in 60+ countries
- Smart caller ID management on Plus and Premium
- HubSpot and Pipedrive integrations, both in beta
Pricing: Basic lists 27 per seat per month on the Myphoner pricing page. The page renders no currency symbol, so confirm the currency before buying. Calling minutes are billed separately.
Who should choose Myphoner
- Small cold calling teams on tight budgets
- Teams that want a dialer without contact center overhead
- Managers who need duplicate detection across shared lists
Limitations: Myphoner documents no AI transcription or call summaries anywhere. CRM integrations cover only HubSpot and Pipedrive, both beta and both restricted to higher tiers. Per-minute calling costs sit on top of the seat price.
12. CallAction: Best for Real Estate Lead Response
CallAction automates lead response and long-term follow-up for real estate teams, layering unlimited two-way SMS and voice outreach onto Follow Up Boss.
CallAction prices by monthly lead volume rather than per seat, which fits solo agents and small brokerages. CallAction has operated since 2015 and remains independent.
CallAction’s strength is speed-to-lead automation and DNC scrubbing rather than outbound dialing volume. Teams outside real estate will find the fit narrow.
Key features
- Automated speed-to-lead response across SMS and voice
- Unlimited two-way SMS with DNC and litigator scrubbing
- AI transcription and call summaries
- Long-term drip campaigns tied to lead behavior
- Follow Up Boss integration
- Single-line power dialer
Pricing: Solo Advanced $299 per month for 1 user, 2 numbers and 200 new leads, on the CallAction pricing page. Extra leads cost $1.50 each.
Who should choose CallAction
- Real estate agents and small brokerages using Follow Up Boss
- Teams whose main problem is response speed rather than call volume
- Agents who need DNC compliance handled automatically
Limitations: CallAction’s power dialer handles one line only and isn’t mentioned on its current marketing site. Follow Up Boss is the only CRM named on current pages. There’s no free trial either, just a 30-day money-back guarantee after a required 90-day launch plan.
Three Tools That Rank for “Sales Call Software” but Aren’t Dialers
CallRail, WhatConverts and ActiveDEMAND show up constantly in this category. None of them places an outbound call.
All three are inbound call tracking tools. They tell you which ad or keyword produced an incoming call, which is useful work, just not the work an outbound team is shopping for.
CallRail attributes inbound calls, forms and texts to campaigns and keywords, from $50 per month billed yearly. AI call summaries require the $150 Lead Conversion tier.
WhatConverts captures calls, forms, chats and transactions and ties each to its marketing source, at $30 per month flat per account. WhatConverts sends no SMS natively.
ActiveDEMAND is marketing automation from JumpDEMAND in Calgary, now repositioned around senior living operators. Agency plans start at $20 per month, and its main pricing URL currently redirects to a 404.
Buy these when you’re measuring inbound demand. Don’t buy them expecting a dialer.
One Tool We Removed: Toky
Toky has no working purchase path anymore. Every call-to-action across toky.co routes to a login page, the signup URL redirects to the homepage, and the login screen offers no registration option.
Toky’s help center sits on docs.messagebird.com and Toky ships a first-party MessageBird Flow Builder integration, both pointing to ownership by MessageBird, now trading as Bird. Toky still displays $25 per agent per month, which we treat as stale.
Any roundup still recommending Toky in 2026 hasn’t opened the site. The same test catches the roundups still naming outreach.io, which redirects to outreach.ai.
What Your First Month With a Dialer Looks Like
Nobody tells you this part, so let’s walk it.
Week 1: setup and number provisioning
You’ll buy numbers, connect your CRM and import lists. Number provisioning takes 1 to 3 business days in most countries, and longer where local regulations require address verification.
Ugh. I know you wanted to dial on day one.
Week 2 to 3: A2P 10DLC registration
If you’re sending SMS in the US, you register your brand and campaign with the carriers first. Registration takes 1 to 3 weeks and costs a one-time fee plus monthly carrier charges.
Wait, I have to register with the carriers? Yes. Unregistered A2P traffic gets filtered or blocked outright, and this is the carrier gods’ front door.
VanillaSoft and Nooks handle the paperwork; most others hand you a form.
Week 3 to 4: connect rate reality
Your first connect rates will disappoint you. Cold outbound connect rates of 3% to 8% are normal on a single-line dialer, which is exactly why parallel dialers exist.
Do the math before you judge the tool. At a 5% connect rate, 200 dials produces 10 conversations. A 5-line parallel dialer gets you those 10 conversations in roughly a fifth of the time, and that’s the entire value proposition.
Month 2 onward: caller ID rotation
Numbers get flagged. It happens to everyone, and it happens faster at higher volumes.
Rotate caller IDs monthly, monitor your numbers’ spam status, and register branded caller ID if your tool supports it. Appease the carrier gods early and you’ll spend far less time wondering why answer rates dropped.
How to Vet a Sales Dialer Before You Buy
Six questions, and the tell behind each one.
“Is the dialer included in the tier you quoted me?” Aircall’s power dialer needs Professional, Close’s needs Growth, and CloudTalk’s is a paid add-on. If the answer is vague, you’re being quoted the wrong number.
“What’s the seat minimum?” Aircall requires 3 licenses and Orum requires 3 seats. A $30 price with a 3-seat floor is a $90 price.
“Do you offer predictive dialing, or progressive?” Vendors blur these constantly. Only RingCX sells predictive here, and Aircall states plainly that it doesn’t.
“How do you handle spam labeling?” Ask specifically about caller ID rotation, spam monitoring and branded caller ID. A vendor with no answer is leaving you exposed to the carrier gods with no protection.
“Is A2P 10DLC registration handled or self-serve?” This is weeks of calendar time. Knowing before you sign changes your launch date.
“What’s the per-minute rate on top of the seat?” Myphoner and Close both bill calling separately. Seat price alone never tells you the real monthly cost.
A Parallel Dialer Raises Dials Per Hour, and Leaves Connect Rate Alone
Marketing in this category runs on multipliers, and almost none of them survive a look at the arithmetic. Competing roundups for this term repeat claims of 4x more calls per day, 5x dials and pickup rates up to 500% higher.
We opened the pages carrying those figures on 24 August 2026. Not one states a sample size, a baseline connect rate, or the time window it was measured over.
The mechanism is worth being precise about. A dialer changes how fast your list gets called, and it changes nothing about whether the person on the other end picks up.
Our own connect-rate section below puts single-line cold connect rates between 3% and 8% on typical B2B lists. At 5%, one hundred dials produce five conversations whether a human or a machine placed them.
What a five-line parallel dialer buys is throughput. Those same five conversations arrive in roughly a fifth of the time, which is a real gain and worth paying for.
The variable that moves is dials per hour. Any vendor presenting that as a connect-rate improvement is describing a different number from the one it names.
What to ask a vendor: “Does your multiplier describe dials per hour or conversations per dial, and over what sample?” Every honest answer to that question is dials per hour.
Connect rate depends on the list more than the dialer. Teams that can’t move it usually add a second channel, which is where done-for-you cold email sequencing reaches the accounts the phone never does.
Building that list is a separate job with a separate toolset. We rank the data and enrichment side in our guide to the best sales prospecting tools for B2B teams.
How to Choose the Right Sales Call Software
Step 1: Decide whether you’re buying volume or quality. Volume problems point to Orum or Nooks. Quality problems point to Gong.
Step 2: Check what your CRM already does. Teams on HubSpot or Close may already own enough dialing capability to skip a second purchase.
Step 3: Count your real seats and multiply. Apply seat minimums and add per-minute charges before comparing anything.
Step 4: Confirm the carrier reputation features. Caller ID rotation and spam monitoring matter more at month six than any feature you’ll demo in week one.
Step 5: Run a live pilot with real lists. Measure connect rate and conversations per hour rather than dials per hour. Dials are easy to inflate.
Is B2B Cold Calling Illegal? Is an Autodialer Illegal?
B2B cold calling is legal in the United States, and so is using a dialer. Not one of the fourteen pages competing for these two queries answers either question from a statute.
The National Do Not Call Registry covers residential subscribers. 47 CFR 64.1200(c)(2) limits the prohibition to “A residential telephone subscriber who has registered his or her telephone number on the national do-not-call registry”.
The FTC says the same thing in its own Q&A for telemarketers. Most phone calls made to a business to solicit sales from that business are exempt from the Do Not Call provisions.
Two rules still apply whatever you call the list. 47 USC 227(b)(1)(A)(iii) bans autodialed or prerecorded calls to any number assigned to a cellular service without prior express consent.
The statute draws no business or residential line there. 47 CFR 64.1200(a)(5) adds a second rule, banning calls that engage two or more lines of a multi-line business at the same time.
A prospect’s personal mobile stays a personal mobile. Calling it because they listed it on a company page doesn’t turn the number into a business line.
On autodialers, the legal definition is narrower than the word suggests. 47 USC 227(a)(1) requires “a random or sequential number generator”, and the Supreme Court confirmed that reading in Facebook v. Duguid, 592 U.S. 395 (2021).
The opinion says a necessary feature of an autodialer is the capacity to use “a random or sequential number generator”. A power, preview or parallel dialer working through a list you uploaded falls outside that definition.
Two hedges belong here. Duguid narrowed only the autodialer prong, so the prerecorded and artificial-voice ban still stands on its own, which is where AI voice agents sit.
And several state mini-TCPA statutes use broader definitions than the federal one. Florida, Oklahoma, Maryland and Washington are the four that catch outbound teams most often.
One rule changed recently and most calling guides missed it. The FCC’s one-to-one consent rule was vacated by the Eleventh Circuit in Insurance Marketing Coalition v. FCC in January 2025.
The FCC then reinstated the previous written-consent definition, published at 90 FR 42137 in August 2025. One-to-one consent and topic matching aren’t in force in 2026.
None of this is legal advice, and state law varies. Take the statute and the opinion to your own counsel before you build a calling programme on either.
Why Your Outbound Calls Get Labelled Scam Likely
Two separate systems decide whether your number arrives clean, and the dialer vendor selling you a fix controls neither. One is STIR/SHAKEN call authentication and the other is A2P 10DLC registration.
STIR/SHAKEN signs each call with an attestation level of A, B or C. The FCC order setting it out, FCC 20-42, defines full “A” attestation. It requires the provider to “confirm the identity of the subscriber making the call, and that the subscriber is using its associated telephone number”.
The same order names the difficulty directly. It notes that an outbound call would struggle to earn full A attestation. That happens when the call routes through a provider other than the one that assigned the number.
So a dialer routing your calls through its own carrier can drop you to B attestation. Carrier analytics then treat a B-attested high-volume number the way you’d expect.
A2P 10DLC is a different animal, and no FCC rule governs it. The carriers run it through The Campaign Registry, a private company, and the FCC publishes no 10DLC rules and audits nobody against them.
Eight of the fourteen pages ranking across these two queries sell spam-label remediation as a product feature. None of them explains either mechanism.
The Minimum Spend: Seat Prices, Seat Minimums and Per-Minute Charges
Seat price alone tells you almost nothing about the first invoice. Two other numbers decide whether a small team can buy a dialer at all: the seat minimum and the per-minute rate.
I read every vendor’s own pricing and billing documentation on 23 September 2026. Where a vendor publishes nothing, that’s recorded below as a finding.
| Vendor (checked 23 Sep 2026) | Published seat price | Billing unit | Minimum seats | Per-minute telephony on top? |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Orum | None published | Not published | 9 seats | Not published |
| Nooks | None published, lead form only | Not published | Not published | Not published |
| RingCentral RingCX | $65 per user appears as a marketing figure; the pricing cards don’t serve to a plain fetch | Per agent | 3 agents, and an annual contract is required | Unlimited domestic North America, but IVR beyond 2,000 minutes per seat is metered |
| VanillaSoft | None published, annual bundles only | Not published | First 5 seats included, which is the effective floor | Not published |
| Aircall | $30 per licence per month billed annually | Per licence | 3 licences, and 25 on Enterprise | No per-minute on voice seats. AI Voice Agents are metered from $100 a month at $0.19 to $0.49 a minute |
| CloudTalk | $25 per user per month billed annually, $34 monthly | Per user | 1, rising to 3 on Expert | Bundled minutes, then prepaid credit |
| Close | $19 per user per month monthly, $9 billed annually | Per user | 1 | Yes. About $0.02 a minute, with numbers from roughly $1 a month |
| Gong | None published, team-size form only | Not published | Not published | Not applicable |
| Outreach | No seat price published, though telephony rates are | Not published | Not published | Yes. Global Minutes at $300 a month per organisation for 10,000 minutes, then $40 per additional 1,000 |
| Salesloft | None published. The pricing URL redirects to a Talk to Sales form | Not published | Not published | Not published |
| Myphoner | $27 per seat per month, with monthly billing as the default view | Per seat | None, and every seat is charged | Yes, on every tier |
| CallAction | $299 a month for 200 new leads | Per lead volume rather than per seat | Not applicable | No. It states no per-message, per-segment or per-minute usage charges |
Close is the cheapest real entry point at $9 per user per month on annual billing. CloudTalk at $25 and Myphoner at $27 are the next two, and none of the three imposes a seat minimum above one.
Orum’s nine-seat floor and Aircall’s three-licence floor are what disqualify a two-rep team. Neither number appears on a pricing page headline.
Four Dialers Ranking Everywhere Else, and Why They Sit Outside This List
Four products appear on five or more of the fourteen pages competing for these two queries and don’t appear in the twelve above. Each one is listed below with what it publishes.
| Tool | Appears on | What it publishes | Why it sits outside this list |
|---|---|---|---|
| JustCall | 7 of 14 pages | A business phone system with a dialer attached | It competes with Aircall and CloudTalk rather than with a parallel dialer |
| Kixie | 6 of 14 pages | Three named tiers, with no dollar figure anywhere in the served page markup | The price couldn’t be verified on 23 September 2026, so it stays out |
| PhoneBurner | 5 of 14 pages | $140 per user per month billed annually, $165 monthly, unlimited calling and no per-minute charge | A strong power dialer, and the only flat unlimited-calling model in this category |
| Dialpad | 6 of 14 pages | A communications suite with Dialpad Sell as the sales layer | The same overlap as JustCall |
PhoneBurner deserves a look if per-minute billing is what’s putting you off. It publishes a flat seat rate with no usage meter behind it.
No Independent Study of Dialer Connect Rates Exists
Every connect-rate and dials-per-hour figure in this category comes from a dialer vendor’s own telemetry. I searched the academic literature, the federal statistical agencies and the trade bodies on 23 September 2026 and found no independent study.
None of the vendor figures states a sample, a method or a definition of what counts as a connect. Aloware claims 500 or more test calls per platform between October and December 2025, and publishes no resulting number.
So when a vendor tells you its dialer triples connect rate, ask which denominator moved. That question ends most of these conversations.
Frequently Asked Questions
What is the best sales call software?
Orum is the best sales call software for outbound teams focused on conversation volume. Orum wins on parallel dialing across 5 to 10 lines, AI answer detection and built-in caller ID rotation. Teams constrained by call quality should choose Gong instead.
What’s the difference between a power dialer and a predictive dialer?
A power dialer calls one number at a time automatically, moving to the next when a call ends. A predictive dialer places multiple calls simultaneously and predicts agent availability, connecting only the calls a human answers.
Which sales call software offers predictive dialing?
RingCentral RingCX is the only tool on this list selling predictive dialing, from $65 per user per month billed annually. Aircall states in its own documentation that it doesn’t offer predictive dialing, and CloudTalk, VanillaSoft, Myphoner and HubSpot don’t sell one either.
How much does sales call software cost?
Verified entry prices in July 2026 range from $9 per user per month for Close to $299 per month flat for CallAction. Parallel dialers including Orum and Nooks publish no pricing and quote custom.
Is call tracking software the same as sales call software?
No. Call tracking tools including CallRail, WhatConverts and ActiveDEMAND attribute inbound calls to marketing campaigns and place no outbound calls at all. Outbound teams need a dialer.
What’s the best sales dialer for a small team on a budget?
Myphoner is the strongest budget option because it includes its power dialer on every tier, though calling minutes bill separately. Close is the better pick for a small team that also needs a CRM.
Why do my sales calls show up as “Scam Likely”?
Carriers flag numbers based on call volume, answer rates and complaint rates, then label suspicious numbers before the call reaches the recipient. Rotating caller IDs, registering branded caller ID and keeping per-number volumes moderate all reduce flagging.
Which sales dialers publish a price, and which quote custom?
Six publish no price on their own site, all checked on 24 August 2026: Orum, Nooks, VanillaSoft, Gong, Outreach and Salesloft. The cheapest published entry is Close at $9 per user per month billed annually. The most expensive is RingCentral RingCX at $65 per user per month billed annually. CallAction is the outlier at $299 per month flat, priced by lead volume rather than by seat.
How many seats do I have to buy to use a parallel dialer?
Orum states a 9-seat minimum on its own pricing page, checked 24 August 2026, which is the highest published floor on this list. VanillaSoft bundles your team’s first 5 seats into every annual package and Aircall requires 3 licenses. CloudTalk requires 3 users on the Expert tier, which is the tier that includes the power dialer. Close, Myphoner and CallAction will sell to a single user.
Do sales dialers work without a CRM?
Close, Myphoner and CallAction each hold their own lead records, so all three run without a separate CRM. Orum, Nooks, Salesloft and Outreach pull their call lists from Salesforce or HubSpot, so all four are hard to run standalone. A team with no CRM should start with Close, Myphoner or CallAction.
Is B2B cold calling illegal?
No, because the National Do Not Call Registry covers residential subscribers. 47 CFR 64.1200(c)(2) limits the prohibition to a residential subscriber who has registered a number on it. Autodialed and prerecorded calls to any mobile number still need prior express consent, whatever label you put on the call.
Is an autodialer illegal?
No, and most modern sales dialers don’t meet the legal definition. 47 USC 227(a)(1) requires a random or sequential number generator, and the Supreme Court confirmed that reading in Facebook v. Duguid in 2021. A dialer working a list you uploaded falls outside it; prerecorded and artificial-voice calls sit on a separate branch Duguid left intact.

Jayson is a long-time columnist for Forbes, Entrepreneur, BusinessInsider, Inc.com, and various other major media publications, where he has authored over 1,000 articles since 2012, covering technology, marketing, and entrepreneurship. He keynoted the 2013 MarketingProfs University, and won the “Entrepreneur Blogger of the Year” award in 2015 from the Oxford Center for Entrepreneurs. In 2010, he founded a marketing agency that appeared on the Inc. 5000 before selling it in January of 2019, and he is now the CEO of EmailAnalytics and OutreachBloom.




