Email automation software sends messages on triggers and schedules instead of on clicks. This guide ranks 13 platforms across three jobs: cold outbound sequences, lifecycle and product-triggered messaging, and list-based marketing sends. Smartlead takes the top spot for outbound because it charges a flat workspace price and puts no cap on connected mailboxes.

I want to frame this whole guide around one idea: you’re building a machine in the basement. The simplest machine you can build is an email drip campaign on a fixed sequence and timing. It runs at 3am whether you’re watching or not. And it will happily send 4,000 wrong emails before anyone notices the trigger was misconfigured.

So the features that matter aren’t the ones on the comparison chart. They’re the sending caps, the billing units, and the blast radius when a rule fires wrong.

At a Glance: 13 Email Automation Tools Compared

Rank Tool Best for Entry price What you’re billed on
1 Smartlead Cold outbound at scale $39/mo Flat workspace, unlimited mailboxes
2 SmartReach.io Multichannel sequences without per-seat billing $29/mo Usage, not seats
3 HubSpot Marketing Hub Marketing plus CRM in one record $20/mo per seat Seats plus marketing contacts
4 ActiveCampaign Branching conditional workflows From $15/mo Contact volume
5 Customer.io Product-triggered lifecycle email $100/mo Profiles, seats unlimited
6 Brevo Marketing and transactional together Not published Emails sent per month
7 Klaviyo Ecommerce email and SMS Not published Profiles plus SMS credits
8 Instantly Cold email with deliverability tooling $47/mo Flat plan per volume tier
9 Saleshandy Cheapest way into cold sequences $34/mo annual Active prospects and sends
10 MailerLite Small lists on a tight budget $12/mo Active subscriber tier
11 Omnisend Ecommerce teams adding SMS $16/mo Billable contact tier
12 Encharge SaaS onboarding sequences $79/mo annual Subscriber tier
13 Mailchimp Beginners sending a first newsletter Not published Contact tier

How We Evaluated These Email Automation Tools

We ranked on four things: what the tool automates, what it bills you on, and what it caps. The fourth is whether the vendor publishes a price at all.

Every price below was pulled from the vendor’s own pricing page on July 31, 2026. Each one is linked so you can check the drift yourself.

Billing unit got heavy weight, because it’s the number that decides your invoice a year from now. A $39 flat workspace and a $39 per-seat plan are the same headline price and a 10x difference at ten users.

Four vendors on this list publish no price we could read. ActiveCampaign, Mailchimp, Brevo and Klaviyo all compute prices client-side or route you to a form. Their pricing rows say so plainly rather than quoting a third-party blog.

We run cold outbound for clients through our own cold email outreach service. The outbound tools here are ones we’ve watched send real volume. The marketing platforms were evaluated from vendor documentation and published limits.

Key data point

Across 40 client campaigns totaling 289,502 emails sent to 243,601 leads, our aggregate bounce rate was 1.77%. Bounce rate is the single number that tells you whether the machine in the basement is about to burn your domain.

1. Smartlead: Best for Cold Outbound at Scale

Smartlead is a cold email automation platform that charges a flat workspace price starting at $39 per month. Every Smartlead plan includes unlimited connected email accounts.

Smartlead is operated by 521 Products Pty Ltd, a Sydney company trading as Smartlead.ai. Smartlead’s pricing model separates it from most of this list. The plan price covers the workspace rather than the mailbox.

That matters because outbound volume comes from mailbox count. A team running 30 inboxes at 20 sends a day pays Smartlead the same $39 as a team running two.

Smartlead publishes a customer result for Eludic. Eludic booked 73 demos in a month and closed $2.7 million with Volkswagen, per Smartlead.

  • Base plan includes 2,000 contacts, 6,000 monthly email sends and 2,000 verified prospect emails
  • Unlimited email accounts on every tier, including the entry plan
  • Built-in warmup, which pairs with a proper email warmup ramp before you send anything cold
  • Client workspaces available from the Pro tier, with whitelabeling as a $29 per month per workspace add-on
  • Master inbox that consolidates replies across every connected mailbox

Pricing: Base starts at $39 per month, or $32.50 per month billed annually, per the Smartlead pricing page checked July 31, 2026. No free tier, free trial without a card.

Who should choose Smartlead:

  • Agencies running outbound for several clients from separate workspaces
  • Teams whose volume plan needs more than five sending mailboxes
  • Operators who want warmup and sending on one bill

Limitations: Smartlead is built for cold outbound and isn’t a marketing email platform, so there’s no visual newsletter builder or ecommerce integration. Client workspaces and whitelabeling both sit behind higher tiers and add-on fees.

2. SmartReach.io: Best for Multichannel Sequences Without Per-Seat Billing

SmartReach.io is a sales engagement platform that runs multichannel outbound sequences from $29 per month, and is one of the few tools here that does not charge per seat.

SmartReach.io is a sales engagement platform rather than a marketing automation suite. It sequences outbound across channels and reports on what each step produced.

Its billing is the reason it sits this high on the list. The pricing page leads on no per seat pricing, pay for what is used, so adding a colleague to the account does not change the invoice. On a list where most tools meter by seat or by contact, that is the clearest structural difference.

  • Multichannel sequencing rather than email alone
  • No per seat charge on any tier, on either product line
  • Eight tiers across two product lines, every one priced publicly
  • No quote-only step anywhere in the range

Pricing: Two product lines, both published in full. Email Outreach runs $29, $89, $199 and $499 per month. Sales Engagement runs $39, $99, $249 and $599 per month, per the SmartReach.io pricing page checked August 27, 2026.

Who should choose SmartReach.io:

  • Outbound teams that add people faster than they add sending volume
  • Buyers who want the full cost visible before booking a sales call
  • Teams that sequence beyond email rather than sending broadcasts

Limitations: Two product lines mean the cheapest number on the page is not the one most teams end up paying. Sequencing beyond email starts on the Sales Engagement track at $39 rather than $29, and the capability that makes the tool worth choosing sits further up again. Usage based pricing also cuts both ways, since a large active list costs more than a flat seat licence would.

3. HubSpot Marketing Hub: Best for Marketing and CRM on One Record

HubSpot Marketing Hub automates marketing email against the same contact record the sales team works in. Pricing starts at $20 per seat per month, with a free tier for two users.

HubSpot Marketing Hub’s argument is record consolidation. The automation triggers read from the same CRM object that logs deals, tickets and sales sequences. A workflow can branch on pipeline stage.

HubSpot bills on two axes at once, which trips up buyers who budget on the seat price alone. You pay per seat and separately for marketing contact tiers, and the Starter plan includes 1,000 marketing contacts.

HubSpot also charges mandatory one-time onboarding on its upper tiers, at $3,000 for Professional and $7,000 for Enterprise.

  • Free tier covers two users with basic email and forms
  • Starter includes 1,000 marketing contacts and 500 HubSpot Credits
  • Published send limit on Starter is 5 times your marketing contact tier per calendar month, rising to 10 times on Professional
  • Workflow branching can read CRM deal and ticket properties, not just email engagement
  • Professional runs $800 per month billed annually with three core seats included

Pricing: Starter is $20 per seat per month at standard rates. A $7 promotional rate for new customers showed on the HubSpot marketing pricing page, checked July 31, 2026.

Who should choose HubSpot Marketing Hub:

  • Teams already running HubSpot CRM who want one contact record
  • Marketers who need workflows that branch on sales pipeline data
  • Companies with budget for the Professional tier and its onboarding fee

Limitations: The two-axis billing makes forecasting hard, and the promotional Starter price applies to new customers only. Professional and Enterprise carry non-negotiable onboarding fees of $3,000 and $7,000 that don’t appear on the plan card.

4. ActiveCampaign: Best for Branching Conditional Workflows

ActiveCampaign builds multi-branch automation workflows on contact behavior, and its own email marketing FAQ states that packages start at $15 per month.

ActiveCampaign is a private, independent company founded in 2003. Its automation builder is the reason people pick it, with conditional splits, goals and wait steps assembled visually.

ActiveCampaign has moved to a quote-led pricing model. The four Email tiers render price placeholders and a Request Pricing form, and no dollar figure loads on the plan cards.

The one figure ActiveCampaign publishes itself sits in the FAQ on its email marketing product page. Packages start at $15 per month, scaling on contact volume.

  • Starter is capped at 5 actions per automation, which rules out most real branching
  • Unlimited automation actions begin at the Plus tier
  • Starter is limited to one user and to email as the only channel
  • Email sends are capped at 10 times your contact limit
  • SMS, WhatsApp, CRM pipelines and transactional email are all paid add-ons

Pricing: $15 per month starting price per the FAQ on the ActiveCampaign email marketing page, checked July 31, 2026. The pricing page itself returned no readable figures. There’s a 14-day trial and no free plan.

Who should choose ActiveCampaign:

  • Marketers whose sequences need conditional branching rather than linear drips
  • Teams willing to buy at the Plus tier or above
  • Buyers comfortable with a sales conversation to get a number

Limitations: The five-action cap on Starter makes the entry plan close to unusable for the branching ActiveCampaign is known for. Getting a firm quote requires a form, which is a real friction cost when you’re comparing eight tools.

5. Customer.io: Best for Product-Triggered Lifecycle Email

Customer.io triggers messages from product events rather than list membership. Pricing starts at $100 per month for 5,000 profiles, with unlimited seats on every plan.

Customer.io is operated by Peaberry Software, Inc. and is built for teams piping product events into messaging. The trigger is an event your application fires, so onboarding and activation sequences respond to what someone did in the product.

Customer.io is the rare tool on this list that doesn’t charge per seat. Every plan includes unlimited users, and the meter runs on profiles instead.

Customer.io also publishes its overage rates openly, at $0.009 per additional profile and $0.12 per additional 1,000 emails.

  • Essentials covers 5,000 profiles and 1 million emails per month
  • Unlimited seats on every tier, including the entry plan
  • Overage pricing published on the pricing page rather than buried in a contract
  • HIPAA compliance, data warehouse destinations and custom role permissions are excluded from Essentials
  • Free 12 months offered through a startup program for companies that raised under $10 million

Pricing: Essentials starts at $100 per month billed monthly. Premium starts at $1,000 per month billed yearly, per the Customer.io pricing page checked July 31, 2026. No free tier.

Who should choose Customer.io:

  • SaaS teams whose best triggers are in-product events
  • Companies with many stakeholders who’d otherwise pay per seat
  • Teams that need published overage rates for budgeting

Limitations: The $100 entry price is the highest floor of any general-purpose tool here, and there’s no free tier to test on. Compliance features that regulated buyers need sit two tiers up.

6. Brevo: Best for Marketing and Transactional Email Together

Brevo, renamed from Sendinblue in May 2023, bills on emails sent per month rather than on contacts stored. Brevo runs marketing and transactional sending on one platform.

Brevo’s billing unit is the reason it lands here. Plans are sold in send-volume tiers, with Starter beginning at 5,000 emails per month and Professional at 150,000. A large dormant list costs nothing to hold.

Brevo raised a 500 million euro round from General Atlantic and Oakley Capital in December 2025 and remains independent. Customers displayed on its own site include Louis Vuitton, eBay and Amnesty International.

Brevo’s pricing page renders tier names and features but no readable prices, so we’re not quoting a figure we can’t verify.

  • Free plan is capped at 300 emails per day, stated in the pricing page FAQ
  • Send-volume billing means unused contacts don’t inflate the bill
  • Transactional and marketing email run on the same account
  • Yearly billing carries a stated 10% discount
  • Prices on the pricing page load client-side and returned nothing on a July 31, 2026 fetch

Pricing: Not published in readable form on the Brevo pricing page as of July 31, 2026. Free forever tier confirmed, with the 300 per day cap.

Who should choose Brevo:

  • Teams holding a large list they mail infrequently
  • Companies that want transactional and marketing sending on one bill
  • Buyers who want a free tier they can test on before committing

Limitations: The 300 emails per day cap on the free plan works as a demo rather than a working tier. Not being able to read a price without a form or a sales call slows down any comparison.

7. Klaviyo: Best for Ecommerce Email and SMS

Klaviyo is an ecommerce-focused messaging platform listed on the NYSE under KVYO since its September 2023 IPO. Klaviyo combines email, SMS and customer profiles.

Klaviyo builds around store data. Segments and triggers read purchase history and browse behavior, which is why it dominates in Shopify-centric stacks.

Klaviyo publishes customer results on its own site. Dollar Shave Club is credited with a reduction of more than 30% in total cost of ownership after consolidating its CRM stack. ThirdLove is credited with 15x SMS return.

Klaviyo’s pricing page is fully client-rendered and returned no plan names and no prices on our fetch. We list it as unpublished rather than guessing.

  • Email, SMS and customer profiles on one platform
  • Free starting tier confirmed in Klaviyo’s own page metadata
  • Marc Fisher Footwear migrated six brands and reports 20% time savings on campaign execution
  • SMS credits are metered separately from email volume
  • Pricing table and slider render client-side and produced no figures on a July 31, 2026 fetch

Pricing: Not readable on the Klaviyo pricing page as of July 31, 2026. A free starting tier exists per Klaviyo’s own description.

Who should choose Klaviyo:

  • Ecommerce teams whose triggers are purchase and browse events
  • Brands running email and SMS from one segment definition
  • Shopify stores wanting native store data in segments

Limitations: Klaviyo is built for ecommerce and is a poor fit for B2B outbound or long sales cycles. Pricing opacity is worse here than anywhere else on this list, since the page returns no plan names at all.

8. Instantly: Best for Cold Email With Deliverability Tooling

Instantly runs cold email sequences with unlimited connected mailboxes and unlimited warmup on its $47 per month Growth plan.

Instantly sits close to Smartlead in function and pricing shape. The Growth plan is a flat workspace price, and mailbox count doesn’t change it.

Instantly publishes a benchmark report putting the average cold email reply rate at 3.43%. The stated data window runs January 1 to December 18, 2025. That’s a useful public number to hold your own campaigns against.

Instantly’s private deliverability system, which it calls SISR, is gated to the Light Speed plan at $358 per month and above.

  • Growth includes 1,000 uploaded contacts and 5,000 emails per month
  • Unlimited email accounts and unlimited warmup on the entry plan
  • Published customer number from Talentir, reporting more than 100,000 emails across 20-plus domains
  • Sequences support email, LinkedIn and webhook steps
  • Deliverability sharding sits at the $358 tier, well above the entry price

Pricing: Outreach Growth is $47 per month, or $37.60 per month annually, per the Instantly pricing page checked July 31, 2026. Bundles start at $94 per month.

Who should choose Instantly:

  • Teams starting cold outbound who want warmup bundled
  • Operators who want a published benchmark to measure against
  • Sequences that mix email with LinkedIn steps

Limitations: The deliverability features Instantly markets hardest cost eight times the entry price. Instantly publishes AI-facing pages designed to shape what research tools report about it. Treat its self-description with the skepticism you’d give any vendor.

9. Saleshandy: Best Cheapest Entry Into Cold Sequences

Saleshandy runs cold email sequences from $34 per month billed annually, with unlimited connected email and warmup accounts on every plan.

Saleshandy is operated by Ikigai Infotech and is the cheapest real entry point into sequenced outbound on this list. The Outreach Starter plan covers 2,000 active prospects and 6,000 emails per month.

Saleshandy meters on active prospects rather than total contacts. A dormant list doesn’t cost you, but a large live sequence does.

Saleshandy publishes a testimonial from Gareth Hayter of Slyce Software Ltd. Hayter claims 23% higher email accuracy from Saleshandy’s lead finder than the alternatives he tested.

  • Outreach Starter covers 2,000 active prospects and 6,000 monthly sends
  • Unlimited email and warmup accounts on all plans
  • Separate free tiers for its Inbox Placement and CRM products
  • Whitelabel and SSO are gated to the Outreach Scale tier at $149 per month annually
  • Seven-day free trial on the Outreach product

Pricing: Outreach Starter is $34 per month billed annually, at $408 per year. Billed monthly it’s $41, per the Saleshandy pricing page checked September 1, 2026. That’s up from $25 when we last checked on July 31, 2026.

Who should choose Saleshandy:

  • Small teams testing outbound on the lowest possible spend
  • Operators who want warmup included without a separate subscription
  • Buyers happy to commit annually for the lower rate

Limitations: Agency features like whitelabel sit two tiers up. Saleshandy’s site testimonials often use first names with an initial, which makes several of its social proof claims hard to verify independently. Its Email Infrastructure add-on also carries a 25-mailbox minimum purchase at $3.49 per mailbox per month, checked September 1, 2026.

10. MailerLite: Best for Small Lists on a Tight Budget

MailerLite starts at $12 per month for its cheapest paid plan. The free tier covers 250 subscribers and 2,500 emails per month.

MailerLite was acquired by Vercom S.A., a Polish company listed on the Warsaw Stock Exchange. The 2022 deal also covered MailerSend and MailerCheck. It still operates under the MailerLite brand.

MailerLite bills on active subscriber tiers with a separate send cap on top. The Comfort plan’s monthly send limit is 10 times the ceiling of your subscriber tier.

The free plan blocks API sending entirely, which matters if you planned to trigger mail from your own application.

  • Free plan covers 250 subscribers, 2,500 monthly emails and two user seats
  • Comfort starts at $12 per month, Power at $25 per month
  • Sending via the API and MCP server is restricted to paid plans
  • Free accounts that exceed 250 subscribers have campaigns and automations locked
  • Yearly billing carries a 10% discount

Pricing: Comfort starts at $12 per month per the FAQ on the MailerLite pricing page checked July 31, 2026. The tier slider itself renders client-side.

Who should choose MailerLite:

  • Solo operators and small teams under a few thousand subscribers
  • Anyone who wants a working free plan rather than a trial
  • Newsletter senders who don’t need CRM features

Limitations: The free plan locks campaigns the moment you cross 250 subscribers, which turns a growth spurt into an outage. API sending on the free tier isn’t available at all.

11. Omnisend: Best for Ecommerce Teams Adding SMS

Omnisend combines email, SMS and web push for ecommerce stores. Paid plans start from $16 per month per its own published description.

Omnisend is independent and privately held, founded in 2014 and headquartered in Vilnius, Lithuania. It competes with Klaviyo on ecommerce automation at a lower entry price.

Omnisend’s billing definition is unusually clear. It bills on subscribers plus non-subscribers who received automated messages, and unsubscribed contacts aren’t billed at all.

Dedicated account expert support is tied to spend rather than plan tier. Omnisend provides it to anyone paying at least $400 per month.

  • Free tier covers 250 contacts, 500 monthly emails and 500 web push messages
  • Standard listed at a promotional $11.20 per month at the 500-contact tier when checked
  • Pro rendered at $41.30 per month at 2,500 contacts
  • SMS priced separately from $0.007 per message
  • Unsubscribed contacts excluded from the billable count

Pricing: From $16 per month per Omnisend’s own stated starting price. Promotional pricing showed on the Omnisend pricing page checked July 31, 2026.

Who should choose Omnisend:

  • Ecommerce stores that want SMS without a second vendor
  • Teams priced out of Klaviyo at similar list sizes
  • Operators who want billable-contact rules stated plainly

Limitations: Omnisend is built around ecommerce events and won’t serve a B2B pipeline. The $400 monthly spend threshold for dedicated support is a high bar for the stores its entry pricing attracts.

12. Encharge: Best for SaaS Onboarding Sequences

Encharge automates behavior-based onboarding email for SaaS companies, starting at $99 per month billed monthly or $79 per month billed yearly.

Encharge is a small independent company still shipping updates as of late 2025. It’s a different business from EnCharge AI, the semiconductor company with a similar name.

Encharge publishes a case study for Landbot. Landbot automates onboarding for more than 80,000 users while saving 320 hours a month, per Encharge.

Encharge charges hard overage on sends, at $100 for every additional 100,000 emails past your plan allowance.

  • Growth covers up to 2,000 subscribers at the entry price
  • Send allowance is 10 times the subscriber limit on Growth, 12 times on Premium
  • Overage billed at $100 per additional 100,000 emails
  • Several features are marked unavailable on the Growth plan
  • Premium runs $159 per month monthly or $129 per month yearly

Pricing: Growth is $99 per month at up to 2,000 subscribers. Billed yearly it’s $79 per month, per the Encharge pricing page checked July 31, 2026. Free trial only, no free tier.

Who should choose Encharge:

  • SaaS teams whose onboarding email is behavior-triggered
  • Companies wanting a lighter alternative to Customer.io
  • Teams that can live with feature gaps on the entry plan

Limitations: The overage rate is steep and easy to trip on a big activation push. Encharge is a small team, so support depth and roadmap pace won’t match the larger platforms here.

13. Mailchimp: Best for Beginners Sending a First Newsletter

Mailchimp has been owned by Intuit since November 2021 and offers a free plan for lists under 250 contacts. Paid pricing is calculated client-side rather than published as a flat figure.

Mailchimp is the most recognized name in this category and the easiest onramp for someone who has never sent a campaign. Intuit completed its acquisition in November 2021 in a deal valued around $12 billion.

Mailchimp publishes a return claim of 27x. Mailchimp attributes it to ecommerce revenue from Standard plan campaigns between December 1, 2024 and November 30, 2025.

Mailchimp’s free plan pauses sending outright when you exceed the contact or send limit. That’s the kind of failure that catches people mid-launch.

  • Free plan covers lists under 250 contacts
  • Four tiers: Free, Essentials, Standard and Premium
  • Sending pauses when contact or send limits are exceeded on the free plan
  • Annual billing is restricted to Premium and to Standard plans above 10,000 contacts
  • Plan prices are injected by a contact-tier calculator and returned no values on our fetch

Pricing: Not readable on the Mailchimp marketing pricing page as of July 31, 2026. The free tier at under 250 contacts is confirmed.

Who should choose Mailchimp:

  • First-time senders who want the shortest path to a sent campaign
  • Small lists that fit inside the free tier
  • Teams already inside the Intuit product family

Limitations: Mailchimp’s automation depth trails ActiveCampaign and Customer.io at comparable spend. Annual billing isn’t available to most Standard customers, so the cheapest rate is out of reach for mid-sized lists.

Email Automation Software Compared: All 13 Side by Side

Tool Entry price Billing unit Free tier Documented cap
Smartlead $39/mo Flat workspace No 6,000 sends/mo on Base
HubSpot Marketing Hub $20/seat/mo Seats plus contacts Yes, 2 users 5x contact tier per month
ActiveCampaign From $15/mo Contact volume No 5 actions per automation on Starter
Customer.io $100/mo Profiles No 1M emails on Essentials
Brevo Not published Emails sent Yes 300 emails/day on free
Klaviyo Not published Profiles plus SMS Yes Not published
Instantly $47/mo Flat plan tier No 5,000 emails/mo on Growth
Saleshandy $34/mo annual Active prospects No 6,000 sends/mo on Starter
MailerLite $12/mo Subscriber tier Yes, 250 subs 10x subscriber tier
Omnisend $16/mo Billable contacts Yes, 250 contacts 500 emails/mo on free
Encharge $79/mo annual Subscriber tier No 10x subscriber limit
Mailchimp Not published Contact tier Yes, 250 contacts Sending pauses at limit

Sales Email Automation vs Marketing Email Automation: What’s Different

Sales email automation sends one-to-one messages from a person’s mailbox to a named prospect who never opted in. Marketing email automation sends branded campaigns to a list that subscribed. The two use different infrastructure and have different failure modes.

Sales email automation

Sales automation runs through individual mailboxes on dedicated sending domains, usually 20 to 30 emails per mailbox per day. Volume comes from adding mailboxes, not from raising the per-mailbox rate.

Smartlead, Instantly and Saleshandy sit in this group. So do the broader sales engagement platforms that add calling and LinkedIn steps on top of email.

Marketing email automation

Marketing automation runs through a shared or dedicated IP owned by the vendor. It sends thousands of messages at once to an opted-in list. Deliverability is managed by the platform rather than by you.

Mailchimp, Klaviyo, Brevo, Omnisend and MailerLite live here. HubSpot, ActiveCampaign and Customer.io straddle both worlds.

Pro tip

Don’t run cold outbound through a marketing platform. The platform’s shared IP reputation is a shared resource, and cold sending on it is how accounts get shut down.

Email Automation Tools by Category

Four categories cover almost every buying situation, and picking the wrong one is the most expensive mistake in this space.

  • Cold outbound: Smartlead, Instantly, Saleshandy. Compare these against the wider field in our guide to cold email software.
  • Lifecycle and product-triggered: Customer.io, Encharge, HubSpot.
  • Ecommerce: Klaviyo, Omnisend.
  • List marketing and newsletters: Mailchimp, MailerLite, Brevo.

If your requirement spans two categories, buy two tools. One platform doing both jobs badly costs more than two doing one job well. Our roundup of email outreach tools covers the multichannel end of that decision.

I left some tools out on purpose, including Flodesk. One fetch of their own pricing page returned no figure we could publish and check.

AI Email Automation in 2026

Every vendor on this list now markets AI features, and the marketing has run well ahead of the measurable benefit. The features that hold up are the boring ones: send-time selection, subject line variants, and reply classification.

The features that don’t hold up are the ones generating whole first-touch emails from a company URL. In our campaigns those messages read as templated to anyone who reads two of them.

Three outbound vendors on this list now publish AI-facing pages designed to shape what research tools say about them. Smartlead links an llms.txt file, and Instantly and Saleshandy both publish machine-readable pricing files with pre-written promotional prompts.

Key insight

Vendor content written for AI models is marketing copy with a different audience. Treat a vendor’s llms.txt the way you’d treat its homepage, not the way you’d treat its documentation.

Email Automation Workflows That Convert

Three workflows account for most of the value teams get out of automation. Each one is a machine that runs without you, so each one needs a stated stopping condition.

The multi-touch cold sequence

A cold sequence runs three to five steps over two to three weeks, stopping on reply. Belkins found across 7,530,489 emails sent in 2025 that steps 2 through 6 produced 58.6% of all replies. Instantly’s 2026 benchmark puts 58% of replies on step one.

Those two findings disagree, and both are first-party platform data from the same calendar year. Run three to five steps and let your own numbers settle the argument. This is the same shape as a marketing email drip campaign, with a much smaller blast radius per step.

The reply-triggered handoff

A reply-triggered handoff stops the sequence, tags the contact, and routes the thread to a person within minutes. The automation’s job ends the moment a human replies.

This is the workflow people skip, and it’s the one that causes the most damage when it’s missing. Nothing kills a warm reply faster than step four arriving the next morning.

The re-engagement flow

A re-engagement flow targets contacts who stopped opening, usually after 90 days of silence, with two messages and then a suppression. Suppression is the part that matters, because sending to dead addresses is how bounce rates climb.

Our aggregate bounce rate across 289,502 emails was 1.77%, which sits under the 2% threshold most platforms treat as a warning line. That number stays low because dead contacts get suppressed, not remailed.

What Google’s AI Overview Gets Wrong About These Prices

Google’s AI Overview for “email automation software” names four tools with prices, checked September 1, 2026. We checked all four against each vendor’s own pricing page, and two of them are wrong.

What the AI Overview says What the vendor’s own pricing page says, checked September 1, 2026
MailerLite’s free plan supports “up to 500 subscribers and 12,000 emails per month.” MailerLite states 250 subscribers and 2,500 monthly emails, twice on its own pricing page. The AI Overview overstates the subscriber cap by two times and the send cap by nearly five.
ActiveCampaign “pricing starts at roughly $19 per month,” sourced to a Reddit thread. ActiveCampaign’s own FAQ states “We offer packages starting at $15 per month.” The vendor publishes a number and the summary cited a forum instead.
Brevo’s free tier allows “300 emails per day with unlimited contacts.” Brevo’s pricing FAQ confirms the 300 a day. It states no contact cap either way, so the “unlimited contacts” half is unverified.
Omnisend flows start “around $16 per month after a limited free tier.” $16 is Omnisend’s list price. The page as rendered shows $11.20 a month, a three-month promotional rate, and its free tier is 250 contacts and 500 emails.

The MailerLite error didn’t start with Google. Zapier and Saleshandy both publish “500 subscribers, 12,000 emails” on their own pages ranking for this query, checked September 1, 2026. The AI Overview repeated it.

There’s a structural reason this keeps happening. Almost no pricing page in this category renders a price to a crawler. Brevo and MailerLite inject their figures client-side, and ActiveCampaign’s cards return a literal placeholder.

ActiveCampaign goes one step further. Its pricing page carries no monthly toggle at all, so every card is hardcoded “Billed annually” and the true month-to-month rate appears nowhere on it.

SmartReach.io has a contradiction of its own that nobody flags. Its Basic card headline says “Unlimited sending emails” while the same card’s included list says “10,000 Emails per month,” checked September 1, 2026.

So treat any price you didn’t read on the vendor’s own page as a rumour. That now includes the one at the top of the search results.

Which Email Automation Tools Have a Free Plan?

Six of the 13 tools here have a free plan, and the automation you get on each varies widely. Mailchimp’s free plan includes no automation flows at all, per Mailchimp’s own pricing plans help page, checked 29 September 2026.

Tool (checked 29 September 2026) Free plan? Contact cap Send cap Automation on the free plan
Mailchimp Yes 250 contacts 500 a month, 250 a day None; Mailchimp’s help centre starts automation on Essentials
MailerLite Yes 250 subscribers 2,500 a month 3 active automations, per MailerLite’s pricing page (monthly view)
Brevo Yes Contacts stored free; automations capped at 2,000 contacts 300 a day Yes, within that 2,000-contact cap, per Brevo’s help centre
Klaviyo Yes 250 profiles 500 a month Not stated in Klaviyo’s free-plan help article
Omnisend Yes 250 contacts 500 a month Not stated on Omnisend’s pricing page
HubSpot Marketing Hub Yes Marketing contacts limited 2,000 a month Minimal; full workflows start on paid tiers
ActiveCampaign, Encharge, Customer.io No Trial only Trial only ActiveCampaign and Encharge each offer 14-day trials
Smartlead, Instantly, Saleshandy, SmartReach.io No Trial only Trial only Saleshandy offers 7 days, SmartReach.io 14 days

Is Mailchimp Still Free?

Yes, but Mailchimp’s Free plan covers only 250 contacts and 500 sends a month, capped at 250 a day. Mailchimp’s help centre lists single email automations and 4-step flows only from the Essentials plan up, checked 29 September 2026.

Several ranking guides still print older free-plan numbers. Zapier’s free email marketing roundup, updated 26 January 2026, lists MailerLite as “Free for up to 500 subscribers and 12,000 emails per month”. MailerLite’s own pricing page says 250 and 2,500.

How to Choose Email Automation Software

Five decisions, in this order.

  1. Name the job first. Cold outbound, lifecycle, ecommerce or newsletter. Buying across categories is the most common and most expensive error.
  2. Check the billing unit, not the headline price. Per seat, per contact, per profile, per email sent and flat workspace produce wildly different invoices at the same sticker price.
  3. Find the cap before you buy. Every tool here has one, and most bury it. HubSpot caps sends at 5x your contact tier, MailerLite at 10x, ActiveCampaign at 10x.
  4. Ask what happens when a rule fires wrong. Does the platform let you pause a running sequence mid-send, and how fast?
  5. Test on real volume before annual billing. Annual discounts run 10% to 40% here, and none of them are worth being locked to the wrong tool.

Start Here: Set Up Email Automation

  1. Pick one workflow, not four. Start with the reply-triggered handoff, because it’s the one that protects revenue you already earned.
  2. Set the stopping condition before you set the steps. Every sequence needs a reply trigger, a bounce trigger and a hard end.
  3. Send to 50 contacts and read every message that goes out. Ugh, it’s tedious. Do it anyway, because this is the only point where a bad merge field is cheap to fix.
  4. Check bounce rate after the first 500 sends. Above 2% means stop and clean the list.
  5. Turn off open tracking. We disabled it on 100% of our campaigns, because tracking pixels hurt deliverability. Google also states plainly that it doesn’t track open rates or verify third-party open reporting.

Frequently Asked Questions

What is email automation?

Email automation is software that sends email on a trigger or a schedule rather than on a manual click. Triggers include a form submission, a product event, a date, a reply, or a step in a timed sequence. The software decides who gets which message and when, based on rules you configure once.

What’s the difference between email automation and email marketing?

Email marketing is the practice of sending campaigns to a subscribed list. Email automation is the mechanism that sends any email without a person clicking send. Marketing platforms like Mailchimp automate list campaigns, while outbound platforms like Smartlead automate one-to-one sequences from individual mailboxes.

What’s the best email automation tool in 2026?

Smartlead is the best email automation tool for cold outbound. Its $39 per month plan is a flat workspace price with unlimited connected mailboxes. HubSpot Marketing Hub and Customer.io lead on workflow depth for marketing and lifecycle automation, so pick by job.

Can email automation work for cold outreach?

Email automation works for cold outreach only on platforms built for it, which send through individual mailboxes on dedicated domains. Marketing platforms send from shared vendor IPs and prohibit cold sending in their terms. Smartlead, Instantly and Saleshandy are the cold-capable tools on this list.

How much does email automation software cost?

Entry pricing among the tools we verified in July 2026 runs from $12 to $100 per month. MailerLite is cheapest and Customer.io dearest, while cold outbound tools cluster between $34 and $47 per month. ActiveCampaign, Mailchimp, Brevo and Klaviyo publish no readable price on their pricing pages.

Are there free email automation tools?

Six tools on this list have a working free tier. Mailchimp, Omnisend and Klaviyo allow 250 contacts, MailerLite 250 subscribers, Brevo 300 emails per day, and HubSpot two users. None of the cold outbound platforms offer a free plan, only trials.

How does AI email automation work?

AI email automation applies models to three jobs that hold up in practice. Those are send-time selection, subject line variant generation, and reply classification. Full first-touch email generation from a company URL is also marketed heavily but produces copy that reads as templated across a batch.

What email automation workflows convert best?

The reply-triggered handoff converts best, because it protects replies you already earned by routing them to a person within minutes. Multi-touch cold sequences of three to five steps come second. Re-engagement flows convert least but protect deliverability by suppressing dead contacts before they bounce.

Is Mailchimp still free?

Mailchimp still has a Free plan, capped at 250 contacts and 500 sends a month, per its help centre on 29 September 2026. That plan includes no automation flows. MailerLite’s free plan allows 250 subscribers, 2,500 emails a month and 3 active automations.

Pick the Job, Then Pick the Tool

The machine in the basement doesn’t care whether you configured it well. It runs on the rules you gave it, at the volume you set, to the list you loaded.

So spend your evaluation time on the caps and the billing unit, and spend your setup time on the stopping conditions. The feature comparison chart is the least useful document in this purchase.

If you’d rather have someone else own the machine, that’s what we do. Let’s set up a time to chat about it.